Horodynsky Community Kitchen donation announced

Innisfil, ON – Cheers rang out at Horodynsky Farms today, as a $1 million donation was announced in support of the Rizzardo Health & Wellness Centre (RHWC). Boris Horodynsky, who has owned and operated Horodynsky Farms for nearly 40 years, made the gift to support the community he lives and works in. “This is my way of giving back to the land that has been good to us,” Horodynsky explains. “We all need to do our part to bring health and wellness options closer to home.”

“The Horodynsky Community Kitchen will always have a fresh supply of onions,” he added.

Innisfil Mayor Gord Wauchope, Mayor-Elect Lynn Dollin, members of Council and representatives from health partners throughout Simcoe County were on hand for the special announcement that introduced the Horodynsky Community Kitchen. With industrial grade equipment and a spacious layout, the kitchen will provide an ideal setting for programs that promote healthy eating to help manage conditions like diabetes and heart disease. It will also create opportunities for seniors to socialize and cook together, and for at-risk youth to find
employment and on-the-job training.

“They say that the kitchen is the heart of the home,” said Mayor Gord Wauchope. “Well, the Horodynsky Community Kitchen will truly be the heart of the Rizzardo Health & Wellness Centre. We are grateful for Boris’ generosity and leadership.” The Horodynsky Community Kitchen will be located on the first floor of the RHWC, a state-of-the-art centre with a focus on community well-being. Currently under construction at the corner of Yonge Street and Innisfil Beach Road, the RHWC is scheduled to open in Spring, 2019.

Fundraising for the Rizzardo Health & Wellness Centre amenities is underway and Boris Horodynsky is asking others in the farming community to join him in supporting the health and well-being of all residents of Innisfil.

Horodynsky Gift Announcement – 1.jpg Town of Innisfil Councillors receive $1 million cheque from Boris Horodynsky. L – R: Councillor Carolyn Payne, Boris Horodynsky, Councillor Richard Simpson, Councillor Rob Nicol, Mayor Gord Wauchope, Councillor Donna Orsatti and Mayor-Elect Lynn Dollin.